Stopover

image

I can’t believe a year ago today I arrived in Sydney. Some days I feel like I just arrived in Australia and other days I feel like I’ve been here all my life. It has been a remarkable year of growth and change. All for good! I think about myself a year ago leaving Canada (it was snowing that day) ready to take on the world. My life reduced to two suitcases and a “yes” to the adventure God wanted to take me on. I wouldn’t trade anything I went through over the last year for anything.

So the update on work: Monash gave me the news a week ago today that they were not going to proceed with sponsorship. Without going into too many details, they didn’t feel they had a strong enough case to present to immigration. As my manager was telling me the news I was reminded of a similar situation back in November. I applied for a job that had my name written all over it. I went through the process (applied and went for an interview) and as they were doing my reference check (which is a pretty good indicator that I was in the running for the job) I was told that they were unable to sponsor me. I was devastated. That’s the best way to describe how I was feeling. I was so mad at my circumstances, at God and thought to myself that this whole journey was a mistake. What that really showed me is how weak my faith was. Yup, the foundation of what it means to be a Christian was lacking in my life. I had to seriously check myself and figure out if I really believed who He says he is and take His Word as truth. My response to that would dictate how I would handle any circumstances in my life. So, as I got the news about Monash I wasn’t even fazed. I listened as my manager broke everything down and the only sadness I felt was not being able to work with him anymore. At the end of the day my future isn’t tied to Monash and I can anticipate something bigger since this door is closed.

To those wondering what’s my plan? Well, at the moment I don’t have one. I never thought being in this position would offer so much freedom. It’s crazy! I’m literally taking each day as it comes. I’m not being driven by my career or anything else…I just want whatever God wants and I’m letting go of whatever that looks like. You know when you read scripture and it sounds good or it’s catchy? Well I’m finding verses actually coming alive in my life. Right now it’s Philippians 4: 6-7. The peace I have about my life is supernatural. I don’t have a plan, my finances are quickly running out, I don’t have a job, and I won’t be able to afford my place next month. But I’m so good! LOL! To comply with my visa requirements I do have to leave Australia. So I’m taking a mini trip to Auckland and I’ll come back to Melbourne on a visitor’s visa. From there, I’ll figure out what I’ll do next. God will speak when it’s time.

The adventure continues!

Leave a Reply

