Single digits!

Today’s date: September 2. Visa expiry date: September 11.

Let that sinkimage in for a moment. LOL!

This photo was me at this time last year.I was saying goodbye to my little apartment, finishing up at work and having final dinner and coffee dates with friends. I knew I was moving to Melbourne but I didn’t know what to expect. All I can say is it has been a year of growth, challenges and adventures. It has been hard to start a new life here without anyone to start it with but I wouldn’t trade the last 12 months for anything.

At the moment I still don’t have confirmation that Monash will sponsor me. All I can do is laugh at this point. I could be staying in Melbourne or on a plane back to Canada (or somewhere else) next week. People who are keeping tabs on my situation are looking at me like my crazy. I’m constantly asked, “What’s your plan B, C, D?” Listen, I have one plan and it’s dependence on God to guide me. He’s done a pretty good job so far so I’m not worried. I’m excited not knowing what’s next because He’ll be with me (whether its easy breezy or challenging) so it’s all good. πŸ˜€ . Normally I would be freaking out and trying to figure out what I need to do next. I have so much peace right now it’s insane. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have moments of panic but those are moments. I don’t wake up stressed or anxious and live my day in that state. I’ve been talking to God about the whole situation and he hasn’t told me anything different so I’m just waiting and trusting Him. Writing that in itself is growth for me. I would not have said that two years ago. LOL!

I’ve enjoyed the last month off though. It’s been so good to catch up with people back home, sleep in, read, go for walks, bake… I could go on. I’ve been able to spend more time with God and in prayer which is probably why I haven’t had a nervous breakdown yet. LOL! I’ve also met a few more of my neighbours, Rosie, Ian and their dog Bruno. He’s a puggle and I adore him.image image

I’m also keeping busy with blogging events. imageIt’s MelbourneΒ Spring Fashion Week so I was at an event with my friend Benny for that and then I participated in an Amazing Race event. It was ok but it was raining on and off the entire day which wasn’t imagepleasant but I met some new friends and had some really good laughs.

I went to a two-day conference at Stairway Church (which has ties to Bethel Church in Redding, California) called ‘More’. When I first saw the ad for it I didn’t have the money to go but I was interested. I just had a little tug inside me that I should go to it. Then I kept seeing or hearing of this conference from other people. I was out for dinner with my friend Rou and casually mentioned I was thinking about going and she went the year before and just raved about it. A few days later I received my Australian tax return so I had the finances to go. I should mention, the conference was only $100 but because I was going into a season of not working I had to be very careful with my money. Anyway, it was worth every penny. The best way to sum it up is I was absolutely wrecked (in a good way). It took me a few days to formulate my thoughts and what I took away from the conference but I left wanting more. More from God, more out of life, more out of my prayer time, more out of my time in the Word… just more. Bill Johnson (senior pastor at Bethel) and David Wagner (a prophet from Florida) were the key speakers and their personal walks with Jesus blow me away. Some of the things they have personally gone through and things they’ve experienced gave me a healthy jealously (if you can even have that, LOL!) for more of God in my life. I’m still living in that cloud that I was on for those two days πŸ˜€

I’ll know what the next chapter of my life will look like in just a few days. Either way, I’m content with whatever direction I’ll be heading.

“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

2 thoughts on “Single digits!

Leave a Reply

