I’m unemployed… again.

I’m back where I was nine months ago, unemployed. LOL! The last six months working at Monash have been great but due to my visa restrictions I had my last day on 31 July.

I had to make a decision back in April whether or not I was going to continue working at Monash. At that point my initial contract was coming to a close; they were unable to provide sponsorship but were willing to extend my contract to six months. I want to stay in Australia so at that point I was considering doing my farm work so I could apply for a second working holiday visa. After a lot of prayer I knew God was saying stay put which meant that if I was going to stay in the country past September it wasn’t going to be by own strength. For someone that’s likes control this wasn’t a comfortable situation.

So I stayed knowing that I wasn’t going to be sponsored. How things have changed.. 😀

In June the executive director put forth a proposal to restructure our department. This included five positions (I think) that were made redundant and creating 11 new positions. Well one of those positions happened to be the position I was in. This new role wasn’t created because of me but the publications team has been in need of more people for a long time. However, over the course of my time there I had taken on more responsibility including managing all on-going publications while the coordinator was on leave for almost a month. I definitely added value to the team but I didn’t think it would bring about sponsorship. At the end of June, the restructure was approved and the hiring commenced for all the roles.

I was encouraged to apply for my position (including from my executive director) and I did as soon as it was posted mid-July. It was anticipated that I could be interviewed before the closing date due to my time constraints but I’m still waiting on an interview date. That being said, the job isn’t mine. I still need to bring my ‘A’ game to the interview as I’ll be up against at least four other candidates. The advantage I have is that I’ve done the job for the last six months and I proved that I am capable of doing the job. I think what amazes me the most is that this was NOT on the horizon back in April! There was no talk or even a hint of a restructure of the department let alone the publications team expanding. Seriously, Proverbs 3:5-6 comes to mind again. It’s not by my own understanding that I should lead my life but God knows all and just asks us to trust him.

I don’t know what’s going to happen. I may be going back to Canada in eight weeks. What I do know is that God is faithful and He’s got my back regardless how this works out. I’m still trying to figure out why I was asked to come here. I know it wasn’t just to work at Monash but I’ve noticed a huge change in myself over the last 10 months. I have a bigger desire to know God deeper and just move beyond “comfortable Christianity”. The more I spend time reading the bible, especially in the New Testament, I realise that Jesus and his disciples didn’t have boring lives. It was a constant adventure. Their faith wasn’t just limited to Sunday mornings but permeated every aspect of their life. Ultimately, my goal is to be more like Jesus so I welcome whatever changes God needs to make so my life is an accurate reflection of who He is. He’s so good. So so good.

My life doesn’t make sense and I love it!

Leave a Reply

