July adventures

July is one of my favourite months. Summer is in its peak, I’m outside all the time going for walks, bon fires, camping… the list goes on. This year being in Melbourne it’s the opposite. It’s winter and it is gloomy and raining all the time. The temperature reaches between eight and 15 degrees during the day and hovering around three degrees or colder at night. I come home from work and crank the heat. Right now my ideal evening is me wrapped up in my blanket, with a cup of tea in front of my heater. What’s happening to me?!?! LOL! I know, I’m Canadian and this weather should be nothing; however, during this time I will gladly pull out my Jamaican card. It’s cold. LOL!

I’m off my soapbox now. July has been a great month, really! One of the highlights was meeting my mentor for the first time. Jill and I connected in April laimagest year and being paired up with her was confirmation that I was moving here. We had many Skype dates over the last 10 months and she became more than just a professional mentor but a friend. It was so great to chat and laugh and have her share more of her life. Plus she’s gorgeous!!! I’m absolutely grateful for everything she’s added to my life.

My junior high days came flooding back with a visit from Courtney. Courtney and I went to school together since grade seven and I haven’t simageeen her since we graduated. We’ve kept in touch via Facebook so it wasn’t awkward when we had dinner. Courtney was living in Melbourne a few years ago as a teacher. She ended up meeting her now husband (Cal is lovely) but decided to move back and live in Canada. They were down visiting his family in Adelaide. We both look the same… still cute 😀

The World Loves Melbourne (the blog I write occasionally for) has been keeping me really busy. There are some food photos below and me and some random events! One was for Independence Day, another was a blogger breakfast party, then the grand opening of a cooking school, and finally the launch of a new champagne in Australia. I feel incredibly fortunate that I’ve been able to experience Melbourne in this way. On top of that, the managing editor is my pastor and he’s just fabulous.

image
Independence Day at Arboury
Breakfast Party @ Mr Mister
Breakfast Party @ Mr Mister
Breakfast Party @ Mr Mister
Breakfast Party @ Mr Mister
image
Neef Kitchen grand opening @ South Melbourne Market
image
Ms Collins hosts a Veuve Clicquot champagne party

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been doing something to keep me fit over the past four months. I’ve always wanted to do this but for some reason it just never worked out. Are you ready?? It’s called aerial (or lyra) hoops.  I do tricks on a suspended hula hoop and some dancing too. It’s a lot of upper body strength and flexibility but I’m slowly getting better. Here’s a little video for you to enjoy!

Finally, work has taken a (good?) turn. I’ll write about that in another post. I just can’t believe I’ve been here for almost a year. I still shake my head at that thought. I’m not too sure what’s next but if I did know it wouldn’t be much of an adventure. 😀 All I can say for sure is that God has been blowing me away these last few months. I really feel the best is yet to come 😀

Leave a Reply

