Don’t take having friends for granted.

I know I’m a social person but that still doesn’t take away the fact that meeting new people and making new friends can be really challenging sometimes. It’s like dating and I hate dating. LOL! It’s the beginning stages that can be tedious. You want to make a good first impression (but not get too carried away), try to find some common interests so there is something to talk about (or else there is awkward pauses), and it takes time. Sometime you know if you can see yourself hanging out with this person again after the first time; but sometimes you need a few more hang-out’s to decide. Ugh! The struggle is real.  Considering that I’ve been here just over eight months, I’m doing ok. 🙂

I’ve met a lot of people through the church I started attending when I first got here (Bridge Church) which I think expedited me meeting people and being friendly with my neighbours as well.

IMG_6955 IMG_6795

I found two other North American’s in my building, Peter and Erica. Peter is actually from Winnipeg and Erica is from LA originally but they met in Huston. What kills me about Peter is that during our first IMG_6998conversation he mentioned that Erica and I would bond over the lack of hair products in Australia. Hint number one that she was black. LOL! He described her and I told him I would say hi if I ran into her. Funny enough, a few days later I was walking into our building and I saw this beautiful black woman standing on her balcony with a TWA (teeny weeny afro). Now, Melbourne is multicultural but it is still predominately Caucasian. I figured my chances of being wrong were pretty slim. So I IMG_7146called out to her and asked her if she was Peter’s wife? She laughed and said yes, then along comes Peter as well. LOL! So our friendship was formed. I even babysat their fur children which are quite the handful. Poor Lily (the dog) always gets beat on by the cats.

I’ve finally attended my first Footy game! My friend Spencer (who I connected with through my librarian from MRU) and we happen to both cheer for the Hawthorn Hawks. He’s a member and invited me along to a game one afternoon. Now, footy to me is a big game of hot potato (but It’s a little more complicated than that) and the game I went to was probably the best game for a newbie. The Hawks won the Premiership last year (equivalent to the Stanley Cup) so they are a pretty solid team. The team that they were playing against, the Essendon Bombers (not a very good team), came in as the underdog and ended up beating the Hawks by two points.  It was back and forth the entire game and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time! Obviously not the outcome I wanted but what a game!! The Australian Football League (AFL) is not as pretentious as the NHL, NFL, or the NBA. The players are paid substantially lower and I personally think it’s more about the fans and the game than the money. For example, at the end of each game, the fans are allowed on to the field.IMG_7057 IMG_7061

This game wasn’t as busy and there was about 65,000 people in attendance. Crazy! Here’s a clip I took at the game:

Something new… I’ve started blogging for one of the top food/lifestyle blogs here in Melbourne called The World Loves Melbourne. My first event was the 5-door hatch launch by Mini Cooper. I was able to take Donna and we had a blast. I wasn’t a Mini fan but now I want all the Mini’s. LOL! It was a pop-up cinema with lots of food, drinks, dessert and bean bags for everyone to enjoy the show. No detail was missed! They even had movie snack pack for everyone.  It was so much fun and I just had to write about my experience. I could get used to the life of a blogger. 😀

IMG_7327 IMG_7378 IMG_7379 IMG_7380 IMG_7313

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

