Sharing my story

Having a Canadian accent is a dead giveaway that I’m not Australian. Thankfully it has helped to strike up conversations with strangers and allowed me to make some friends along the way.  🙂 At some point in the conversation I am always asked “So what made you move to Australia?” I wish I could say that I thought it was a good idea or that I needed an adventure – but that’s not the case at all. It was as simple and as being obedient to what I knew I heard God tell me. It’s easy talking to other Christians about this because the idea of hearing from God isn’t a foreign to them. But to non-believers it’s a weird and sometimes uncomfortable conversation to have (trust me, lol).

I’ve been in more situations than I can count where I have been given the option of sharing my faith and sometimes, because of the fear of being judged, made fun of, mocked etc., I’ve shied away from telling people about Jesus. Silly, I know. I didn’t realize how much I really do care about what others think of me. I know we all do to an extent but this really highlighted my need for validation from others which is not very healthy. So I’ve had the awkward looks and actually had someone laugh in my face when I told him why I moved (rude. Lol); however, I’ve also had the privilege of sharing my faith on a deeper level with people who were so curious to know more about this God who asked me to move to the other side of the world and I just said yes.

I had to see a doctor when I first moved here and during our conversation he asked the question “So why did you move to Australia?” I just blurted out my answer which was “God asked me to come here and so I did.” He stopped writing, put his pen down and looked up at me bewildered. He wanted to know everything – about how I heard God, my faith, Christianity and about Jesus. He was firing off so many questions but not to attack me. He was genuinely curiosity about why I would come across the world for Jesus.

So my 15 minute appointment turned into over 30 minutes as we chatted about my faith and all the good things God has done for me. I think he thought I was crazy because I don’t have a job, friends or anything “stable” in my life. But I had Jesus and that’s all that mattered. This was Peter’s words becoming truth right in that moment:

“Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect…” (1 Peter 3:15)

I didn’t have a script or a perfectly crafted out speech. All I had was my authenticity which is not only what God wants from us but what people want from others as well. I don’t share my story or my faith for praise or because it makes me look good. I share because I want people to know what God has been doing in my life, the crazy adventures he continues to take me on, and introduce them to a God that wants to do the same thing with them.

So be encouraged! Everyone has a story to share. You never know who you will inspire, mentor, or bless in those moments when you do.

Leave a Reply

