Randie meets the Backstreet Boys!

IMG_4708
This post is long overdue but I still feel the same feelings as I did on May 17, 2014 when I fulfilled the number one thing on my bucket list. I can proudly cross off that I met all five members of the Backstreet Boys and I’m still grinning as I type this post :D.

Meeting the group was such a big deal for me especially because of the way everything was orchestrated. If you want to know the full story you can read my other blog post about it here. On the morning of the concert, my sister (Nicole) and I start the process of getting ready. We didn’t have to be at Rexall Place until 4 p.m. but we were meeting the Backstreet Boys so we took our sweet time just to make sure we looked flawless. BSBMy dear friend Yvonne and Karen were also attending the meet and greet so we met up with them at Starbucks prior to talk about how excited we were. LOL! When we arrived at Rexall we had to waitPre Backstreet Boys in line for about two hours before the doors opened so we started singing (out loud) our favourite BSB songs and of course had to take a selfie to show our excitement.  When the doors opened we got our passes and had to get into another line based on what level we purchased. Yvonne and Karen had the gold level and Nicole and I had the sliver passes. IMG_4692We had all the same benefits except that Yvonne and Karen got individual pictures with the group and Nicole and I had a group shot with two other people.  Didn’t make a difference to me! I was going to meet and touch the Backstreet Boys! Ahhh!

First on the list was a private show. It was magical! They sang the acoustic version of a few of their new songs which gave me shivers. LOL!  I was so captivated that I forgot to take some video footage but that’s ok. Yvonne came through with this clip. Oh, that squeal at 2:15 is Yvonne. Hahaha!

Afterwards,  they did a Q&A with the fans and were only taking five questions. I didn’t expect to get my question answered. IMG_4691Heck, I didn’t even have a question I just wanted them all to be looking in my direction.  This is where my sister’s broken ankle came into play. She recently had surgery to remove one of the screws from her foot and was walking with a cane.  Not just any regular cane but one that was bedazzled with diamond-like jewels. Well that’s going to get anyone’s attention especially if you are waving it in the air. Kevin noticed this and stopped everyone and said, “Guys, I think we need to talk to the girl waving the cane in the air.” I died. But whatever, they were talking to us! Well Nicole really, but I was right there so it was like they were talking to me too. Haha! She asked them about their time in Edmonton and what was their favourite thing to do since they’ve been here a few times now. It was a decent question. After almost 20 years doing this, is there anything that they haven’t been asked? So after the Q&A we went off to wait for our photo with the Boys.  As you can image the anticipation was building. This is something I have thought about and dreamt about for years. Of course I had an idea of what it would be like but who knew if that would be the reality. As we stood in line we got to see all the girls come out after they had their photo taken. Some came out crying, some were just hysterical, but no one walked out like what they did was no big deal. My stomach turned into knots. I didn’t want to look like a fool but at this point I didn’t know how I was going to react.  When we were the next group to go into the photo room I remember feeling really light headed. This was the moment I had been waiting for. Since I was nine years old I have been in love with these boys and now 18 years later I was going to be standing face to face with them.

As Nicole and I walked into the room, I remember taking deep breaths as I saw Howie, Nick, AJ, Kevin and Brian chatting and posing with the group in front of us. They were less than 10 steps in front of me!!!!! One of their bodyguards (who I had befriended earlier) was watching me and asked me if I was ok. Hahaha! I told him I didn’t think I could do this. He laughed and said “Well, you’re up next!” As I turned to look at the group, Howie was looking right at me with a big smile and waved for me to come over. I honestly don’t know how I managed to walked the five steps to get to him. As soon as they all were looking in my direction, I was walking on cloud nine. So I hugged all five of the guys. They are were so lovely, smelled amazing, and gave awesome hugs. Now, growing up I was always on Team AJ; however, when Kevin looked at me and said “hey sweetie, how are you doing?” and gave me the not just a hug, but an embrace, I switched! Kevin has my heart forever now. I still smile every time I see the group photo.

The whole process took about five minutes although it felt more like five seconds.  I just remember being so exhausted afterwards and still not being able to fully process what happened. Nicole and I found Yvonne and Karen and ate food while we reminisced about our moment with the Boys. We were smiling and giggling the whole time.  I still can’t believe that those boys have that affect on me. If that was the end of my night I would still be ecstatic but we still had the actual concert to attend! It was amazing, of course! Most of my energy was gone but I stood almost the entire time and sang to every song. Nicole, on the other hand, was feeling the effect of standing on a broken ankle for too long. Her foot was the size of a large balloon by the time we left. Was it worth it? I think she would agree that she wouldn’t change one moment of that day :D.

So the number one thing on my bucket list is done and it is one of my best memories to date. Now I have to make my way through the rest of the list :).

Leave a Reply

