It’s spring!! (Well almost)

It was almost t-shirt weather today in Fort McMurray! The thermostat hovered around the 8 C mark which was a nice change from minus 40 C last weekend. The last few weeks have been pretty busy. I was traveling , house-sitting for a co-worker, and school has been taking up a lot of my time.  The weekends are way too short! Normally I’m too tired to do anything Friday night, and I can’t stay  late Saturday because I have to get myself organized for the week on Sunday. Ugh, the life of an adult. Seriously! When did I sign up for this?

Is it July 18 yet? I need to be done this degree. I can’t believe it is so close! Before the summer is done I will have a degree in hand!! Our class was given the structure for the spring semester and two of my three classes are online and the one lecture is scheduled on Fridays from 8:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. I think I can handle that. Now I need to get a job. EeK!

March is one of the goingtoworksyncrudebusiest months for Syncrude in terms of events. I have been out a few times at various events to gather information and pictures for stories, learning the world of video editing, and I have supported my colleagues in event planning.

The biggest event this month is The National, Grand Slam of Curling, which starts on team-brad-jacobsMarch 14 and will be broadcast live on Sportsnet. Some big Canadian names will be here like Kevin Martin and Kevin Koe. There will also be some international teams from Europe competing in the event. I don’t know much about curling but this is the weekend to learn. Plus! Olympic gold medalists Brad Jacobs and his team will be at this event. I fully plan on taking a picture with the gold medals 🙂

Usually I don’t get excited to go to Edmonton but I have been so busy that I needed this break.  I was able to relive some of my childhood by seeing The Goo Goo Dolls  at the beginning of the month. The band is older than me!

Creative+Coalition+2013+Inaugural+Ball+Arrivals+lrmY7jiO2uBlGooGoo

They formed in 1985 and they still can put on a show! I wasn’t able to get any good shots of the band on stage but I have the memories. I took Kaylene with me and we had a blast! I’ve never attended a concert at the Northern Jubilee Auditorium and I was really impressed with the layout of the building, the food, and the facility itself was classy. Interesting venue choice for a rock band but this way no one got too crazy.  That and the Oilers were also playing that night at Rexall 🙂

I’ve made it past the half way mark. I have 48 days left until I fly back to Calgary. It would be a lie if didn’t say I’m excited to move back. Not for the reasons that most people might think given the reputation that this city has. I just don’t feel settled here. That’s because my work term has an end date and I still have my condo in Calgary. I’m excited to go back to my home where I have all of my stuff, my car, and my friends (which I miss dearly).

oasis

I was feeling a little homesick and my church family sent me a little care package. It totally made my day! But it made me miss them even more. I’ve made some friends and connections here but because I know I’m leaving I don’t think I have put the usual amount of effort into getting to know people and building those relationships. We’ll see what I can do in the time that I have left.

Leave a Reply

