Olympics, Olympics, Olympics!!!

I love the Olympics!

Sadly, I haven’t been able to watch a lot of the events because I work during the day and I go to the gym after work. By the time I get home I have to cook dinner, clean up from dinner, and pack my lunch. I’m pretty exhausted but I normally keep the TV on in the background. This weekend I was able to watch quite a bit including the women’s semi-final for hockey.

photo 3 Looks like another rival match up for the gold medal. Everyone could predict that match but it would be nice to see another team besides the USA playing for gold. Yes, I said the USA. Canada will always play for gold :).

Every event that I watched from figure skating, to curling, skiing, snowboarding – it has been so amazing! I am so proud to be Canadian watching all the athletes bring their best effort to each event and hearing stories about the character of Canadians. Ski coach Justin Wadsworth and speed skater Gilmore Junio made headlines last week. If you haven’t read their stories, click on their names to read about their actions. It’s guaranteed to make your heart feel warm and fuzzy.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do when I am done school. I have had a desire to work abroad and I had a thought the other day, what if I could work for the International Olympic Committee? Most likely I would be based in Switzerland and would be able to travel all over the world! That seed has been planted in me. I remember when I said I would love to work for Hockey Canada. Although I haven’t worked for them as a paid employee, I have been involved in so many Hockey Canada events and I’ve had a blast!  When I decide I want to do something it usually comes full-circle. I’ve already started praying about it. Let see what God does!

The day I photo 2tried out my new skates was one of the colder days here in Fort Mac. It was -26 but it was so sunny outside! I was frozen by the end. I stayed outside for almost two hours and that was it. But I think I’m getting the hang of skating again. It has been at least 15 years since I have had skates on. How I stop isn’t very graceful but I am not running into the boards anymore. LOL! Hey! It’s progress. This weekend I’ll be at the ski hill. I’m not too sure what to expect but my snowboard has been collecting dust for far too long.

Did I mention I really like my team at work? Well I do! There is always laughter around the office which is nice. Just after noon each day we all go to the board room to eat lunch and laugh some more. LOL. It’s such a great dynamic because we all work on various projects together and even after working with each other all morning we still have a great time at lunch. One girl that I work with, Tara, is notorious for decorating people’s office if it is their birthday. So of course for her birthday we went and decorated!photo 1

I think we did pretty awesome! Tara loved it! It’s nice to be able to do something for someone who always does so much for everyone. She even got everyone Valentine’s Day treats.

photo-9I baked cupcakes (gluten free of course) which turned out to be a hit :). I have to sweeten everyone up since my mid-term evaluatiophoto-11n is coming up this week.  FYI, the cupcakes were made with Betty Crocker gluten free mix. I highly recommend it! They came out so moist and no one could tell the difference.

It has been over a month since I arrived in Fort McMurray. I heard a lot of things about this city before I came here and I must say a lot of the comments were unfounded. Fort McMurray reminds me a lot of Edmonton. It is missing things such as retail and restaurants but you can still find those things here. I have met some great people and because there isn’t a big mall to go to, or lots of activities, it has forced me to become more creative and that’s when I have been having the most fun!

Let’s see what adventures I have this week.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

