This girl is hitting the ice!

So I finally bought skates!  WOOOOOO!

This is very exciting for me! I REALLY like hockey. I know how the game works, I can hold a conversation about what’s going on in the NHL, but I can’t play. So I resort to watching NHL games, junior hockey, and the Olympics. I don’t have cable in Calgary so having cable in Fort McMurr297194_10150364716788025_498241058_nay has been nice. Instead of picturing in my head what’s going on and yelling at the air, I get to see the game live and yell at the TV while I’m at it.  Who do I cheer for you ask? And I am a die-hard Oilers fan. I bleed copper and blue.

But my love for hockey extends beyond the Oilers. I like to be a part of the atmosphere and experience everything about the sport.  Being in the communications industry, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to get involved in high profile events. I’ve been a part of major hockey tournaments in Calgary including the Mac’s Midget Tournament, IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship, World Sledge Hockey Challenge, and several events for Hockey Canada.

However, being a poor student, I can’t afford to go to a NHL game. So I took in some local hockey here watching the Fort McMurray Oil Barons. The Oil Barons are a junior hockey team and are one of the best in the AJHL.

I missed it all – the cool temperature of the rink, the hard seats, the smell of popcorn, and the lingering scent of hockey equipment.  It was great! My favourite part of the game was during the second intermission. If you have ever been to an Oil Kings game or watched any other team in the WHL you may be familiar with the “Teddy Bear Toss”.  During the Christmas season, fans are encouraged to bring teddy bears to the game and throw them onto the ice when the home team scores its first goal. The toys are then gathered up to be donated to charity.


There were a number of people trying to sell us Frisbees in the foyer.  I thought it was odd considering it was -24 outside, so I opted out. What I didn’t realize was that it was a charity selling the Frisbees as a fundraiser and the Frisbees were being used for a contest during the second intermission. People had to try and hit the bullseye located in the middle of the rink with their Frisbee. It was such a neat thing to see everyone throw their Frisbees at once. I wish I bought some. I felt left out. LOL!

SkatesAnyways! Back to the skates! I know, what am I thinking?! I really want to be active this winter so I will be out on the ice sometime this week. Thankfully I’m around a lot of boys who play hockey. So I’ll be baking treats in exchange for lessons. I think it’s a good deal, especially for me since I like to be in the kitchen.

My cooking skills came out for the Super Bowl party. I wanted to make something different and not “typical” game day food like nachos. I saw a recipe for a beef dip on Facebook and that idea stuck. I googled beef dip recipes and found one on allrecipies.com.  I figured that if it had a 4.6 of 5 rating from over 400 people it must be good. I borrowed a crockpot from a co-worker and started the meat at 8 a.m. Sunday morning. The recipe called for beer, which I thought was odd. I didn’t realize that beer is good to marinate beef. So I bought the only dark ale I was familiar with, Guinness.  How did it turn out? Let’s just say my beef dip brought all the boys to the yard. Actually, they were just hungry but it was a huge hit. Domestic Randie is becoming more and more polished.

The highlight of the week was running into a friend I used to work with in Edmonton at Flirt Cupcakes. I haven’t seen Melissa for over three years and I run into her in the hallway of one of the plants at Syncrude.  The company has over 5000 employees and I don’t even work in that particular building where I saw Melissa. She recognized my laugh and followed my voice. I don’t know if I should feel flattered or sad. Haha!  We’ll be doing dinner this week for sure.  Seeing a familiar face is making my time up here much more manageable.

Randie’s adventures continue next week!

Leave a Reply

