My job in a nutshell

Oh you probably want to know what I do for work!

A lot of people are confused with the communications industry. Some think I do information technology (IT) work and others think I have a job like Samantha Jones from Sex and the City, which in their minds equates to getting drunk and going to fancy parties. I think this picture sums up the different ideas that people have about my job. Thanks to Rebecca Mass for this hilarious summary!

PRtruth

My job is not like that at all. The communications industry is diverse, challenging, and exciting at the same time. Communication professionals research, write, plan, edit, design, and implement everything from strategic communications plans, to press conferences, social media strategies, and galas. Our job is to communicate what our organization is doing –we have the privilege of telling an organization’s story to the rest of the world.

With Syncrude I work in the public affairs department.  Public affairs is an umbrella term for other departments such as government relations, internal communication, external communications, media relations, and social media. My role is primarily writing for the internal Syncrude audience. I am responsible for writing between three and five articles for the weekly employee newsletter, writing for Synergy, which is an external quarterly magazine, and supporting the team in other initiatives with external communications such as events and site tours. I hope to get more involved in media relations because I have such a passion for it. I’ll keep my fingers crossed but I have enough on my plate right now.

So no, my job isn’t glamorous all of the time but it is always changing and I don’t do the same thing every day. I love it!

I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

