Making new friends and gaining perspective

This week was pretty low key. I only had a four-day work week because I get one Friday off every three weeks.  I have to leave my house at 7:20 a.m. every morning so I still woke up at 6:30 a.m., but it was a beautiful feeling to roll over and go back to sleep.

So what to do on my day off? After living in bigger cities like Edmonton and Calgary, I realize finding things to do in Fort McMurray is going to require some creativity on my part. Not having a car makes it challenging to get around.  Right now, my main means of transportation is via city transit.  So I am at the mercy of the bus schedule every time I want to do something. The transit system is adequate but not the greatest. I always have to plan ahead when I’m traveling to get groceries, or stop at the bank; things I used to take for granted always having access to a car. On Saturday, it took me close to four hours to get groceries. I only spent one hour in Save-On-Foods (insert unimpressed face). Oh well. Besides going to work out at the gym (which I did), I’ve looked into becoming a volunteer dog walker for the local SPCA, learning how to skate better, and getting better at snowboarding. Updates on how those are coming along will be in future posts.

It has been interesting to get to know everyone on a personal level. There isn’t much to do out here  so everyone goes to work out. These are my a few of my workout buddies. They are so sweet!1010029_10152027335088025_1597582999_n

But no one appreciates the 90’s like I do. I mentioned Saved by the Bell and I had five people looking at me with blank stares. I’ve decided to keep all references to myself.

Am I old? I don’t think so. I definitely can’t keep up with them in terms of partying. I went out for drinks at a pub downtown with my friend’s fiancé and some of his work friends on Friday night. After three hours in the pub I had to lea5adb8040_ove. Why? It was too loud. What is happening to me?! LOL! I did stop by my neighbours place because he was having some of the other students over. It was pretty crazy there! I didn’t stay very long but managed to get this group photo.

I’ve made friends with just about everyone but one person. There is one guy that has been getting on everyone’s nerves. He has pushed my buttons a few times and I’ve had to bite my tongue and not let my anger get the best of me. He has a need to prove how much he knows and loves to highlight how much other people don’t know. It gets frustrating for sure.  It’s really easy to be nice and love people who in our opinion “deserve” it, but do we just write off those who are more difficult to love? I’ve noticed that this guy hasn’t been to any of our outings because no one had invited him. I can understand why, but I know what it is like to be the outcast.  I know we can find a middle ground where we both can relate to each other. I will be making a trip downstairs to visit him and I’ll bring treats! Most likely muffins, everyone loves muffins! That should break the ice 🙂 .

The highlight of the week was having one of those “a-ha” moments. I like having “a-ha” moments because I finally understand what God had been saying to me for awhile. It just takes some time for it to finally click. I’m such a perfectionist and really self-critical.  For example, I am really anal about knowing where my keys are at all times. I have lost count about the amount of times I have either locked myself out of my car or out my apartment, so I make a point to always know where they are.  On Wednesday, after I arrived at work, I noticed that my lanyard was not hanging out of my pocket. I didn’t think too much of it because I had a bunch of bags that I brought to work and I threw them in the trunk of my friend’s car on our way to work. I just assumed that they had fallen out and didn’t think much of it after that. When I arrived at my friend’s car at the end of the day I was shocked that the keys were not anywhere in the car. I had that moment of panic because I knew I had dropped my keys on the way to his car in the morning.

I opted to take the bus home instead of going to the gym as to try and find them. The struggle with my work hours is that I leave when it is dark outside and get home when it is dark. So to look for my keys was difficult because by the time I got home I could barely see anything. Nonetheless, I looked, and was really upset when there was no sign of them. At this point there wasn’t much to do but pay for a locksmith to open my door, and pray that someone wasn’t inside waiting for me.

The biggest learning for me was profound, yet simple – I’m human, and human’s make mistakes. This was seriously mind blowing for me. I don’t make mistakes.

As much as I had taken the proper precautions to ensure that this didn’t happen, it did. I’m not perfect and that’s OK.  People are still going to love me even if I do screw up. All of that from losing keys! It was definitely a humbling moment for me.  The world didn’t end, it was just an inconvenience. I saw it and treated that as so much more and became really critical and negative about myself. Not healthy!  On a positive note, I found my keys the next morning walking to my friend’s car. My thought is someone picked up my keys  and then just left them where they found them.  Woot Woot!

More next week!!

Randie

Leave a Reply

